A Brief Rant about Format

“Lovers of print are simply confusing the plate for the food.” I came across this quote by Douglas Adams recently and absolutely love it. Whenever I tell people I’m a librarian, one of three questions is bound to come up: You need a degree for that? Do you still use the Dewey Decimal system, haha? and Are books going to be gone soon? While the first two make me cringe, the third is something that comes up again and again in my life and work. Personally, I see it as a balance between technology and print, but I feel like this quote sums up the point perfectly. Storytelling and narrative go beyond their format. While I don’t see libraries becoming entirely digital in the near future, I also don’t think that it would be the end of the world. People enjoyed and shared stories well before the invention of the modern book as we know it and they will continue to do so far into the future. I’m sure I’ll write more about this again. 

